Dear Tony Romo,

This might be kind of awkward because we’ve never met in person before, but I just wanted to say thank you.

Thank you for being the quarterback for the Dallas Cowboys.

You’ve been slinging the pigskin around in Dallas for basically as long as I can remember. One of my earliest memories about football is of you breaking away from a sack and then hitting Jason Witten for a touchdown.

You made football fun for me. My dad was a die-hard Dallas Cowboys fan, long before you joined the team or I was born. Some of my greatest memories were Sunday afternoons, watching the Cowboys in primetime with him. Wings were the obvious choice of food, mild at first but with gradually more buffalo sauce as I got older.

When my dad and I used to throw the football around, I always used to pretend I was Tony Romo.

I can’t even begin to count the number of No. 9 jerseys that I’ve been given over the years. I still have quite a few in my closet even now. Some of them don’t fit, but I keep them anyways.

I know your time in Dallas has been anything but perfect. We haven’t delivered you a championship, despite you being the lifeblood of this franchise for nearly a decade now.

We nearly got there in 2014. It seemed like the perfect storm. A run game that no one could stop and you back there throwing it all over the field to Dez, Witten and Beasley. Unfortunately, we couldn’t get to the big game.

I understand why you’re leaving the Cowboys, but it doesn’t make it any easier to comprehend for a Cowboys fan since birth. It will be hard to see you on another team next year, with a jersey that is not navy and white.

But despite that, I’m going to root for you no matter where you go. Be it Denver, Houston or in a broadcast booth, myself and the rest of the Cowboys fans around the globe are going to be pulling for you.

Thank you, Tony Romo.

Thank you for being our quarterback.

 

Leave a Reply

